Boldog születésnapot, ‘Když mě chceš’ és ‘Proč se ti zdá’ és boldog születésnapot ‘Rock and roller’!

It is now fifty-one years to the day since Valinka recorded – at the Studio FISYO in Prague – ‘Když mě chceš’ (‘When You Want Me’) and ‘Proč se ti zdá’ (‘Why Does It Seem To You’) and forty-four years to the day since she performed ‘Rock and roller’ – in its native Hungarian, having originally been by Kati Kovács, on the New Year’s Eve television show, ‘Silvestr na přání aneb Čí jsou hory Kavčí?’ (‘New Year’s Eve On Request Or Whose Are The Kavčí Hory?’).

To play the first two of these songs and for the recording details and credits please go over to the ‘Valérie Čižmárová: A Life In Sound’ page of ‘Bananas For Breakfast’, but embedded right here is that startling appearance on ‘Silvestr na přání aneb Čí jsou hory Kavčí?’

‘Rock and roller’: Music and Lyrics by Gábor Presser

Here are those maybe to many of those in the television studio that night unintelligible lyrics from Gábor Presser, with an ImTranslator-based translation into English, although Valinka had run her famous fan, the actor Vladimír Menšík, who was on presentation duty, through the basic outline of the lyrics beforehand!

You see, it goes like this.”

Ha egy rock and rollert kaphatnék, egész nap rolleroznék
elmennék én tehozzád, elájulna a mamád.

If I could get a rock and roller, I would roll all day
I would go to you, your mom would pass out.

De a rock and roller nagyon drága, nem kapni a mi utcánkba Oh!

But rock and roller is very expensive, did not get to our street Oh!

Ha egy rock and rollert kaphatnék, én nagyon rendes lány lennék
megállnék a zebránál, hadd menjen aki gyalog jár.

If I could get a rock and a scooter, I would be a very ordinary girl
I would stop at the zebra, let me go on foot.

De a rock and roller nagyon drága, nem kapni a mi utcánkba Oh!

But rock and roller is very expensive, did not get to our street Oh!

Ha egy rock and rollert kaphatnék, soha busszal nem járnék
leállna a forgalom, bámulnák a rollerom.

If I could get a rock and scooter, I would never take a bus
traffic would stop, I would stare at my scooter.

De a rock and roller nagyon drága, nem kapni a mi utcánkba Oh!

But rock and roller is very expensive, did not get to our street Oh!

Ha egy rock and rollert kaphatnék, mindjárt hozzád szaladnék
felülhetnél leghátra, azt sem bánom, hogy ki látja.

If I could get a rock and roller, I’d run to you right away
you could sit on your back, I don’t mind who sees it either.

De a rock and roller nagyon drága, nem kapni a mi utcánkba Oh!

But rock and roller is very expensive, did not get to our street Oh!

It’s funny that it’s only now that it’s occurred to me that the title is actually a very clever play on words, now I know that a scooter, in Hungarian, is exactly what it is in German – a ‘Roller’. That ‘drága’ for ‘expensive’ is none too dissimilar to Czech’s own ‘drahý’, as well, which is also very much like our own, now somewhat old-fashioned word for ‘expensive’, ‘dear’.

So, after that in-expensive Hungarian lesson, it only remains to wish all ‘Bananas For Breakfast’ readers “Boldog új évet!”

Hmmm! Really seriously teaching myself some more Hungarian as a New Year’s resolution?

One thought on “Boldog születésnapot, ‘Když mě chceš’ és ‘Proč se ti zdá’ és boldog születésnapot ‘Rock and roller’!

Leave a comment